The Schengen acquis - Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement of 14 June between the Governments of the States of the Benelux Economic Union, the Federal Republic of Germany and the French Republic on the gradual abolition of checks at their common borders. OJ L , In force. Avis juridique important. As fronteiras internas podem ser transpostas em qualquer local sem que o controlo das pessoas seja efectuado.

Author:Fenrikora Aralkis
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):15 January 2011
PDF File Size:11.91 Mb
ePub File Size:2.15 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

It enables its holder to enter, freely travel within, and leave the Schengen zone from any of the Schengen member countries. There are no border controls within the Schengen Zone. All nationals of third countries, which have yet not reached a visa-liberalization agreement with the Schengen member states, need to obtain a visa prior of their arrival in Europe.

Please, make sure that the border officer gives you an entry stamp in your passport when you enter the Schengen area. Without a stamp, you could be fined or detained.

The Schengen zone includes the 26 countries that have signed the Schengen agreement , which allows citizens of member countries to travel within the zone freely, without passing through passport and border control.

You do not need a national visa issued from these countries to enter, transit or stay in their territory temporarily.

You need to apply for a Schengen Visa if you intend to visit one or more European countries of this area for the following reasons:. Depending on your reasons for visiting the Schengen countries and the frequency of your visits, the Schengen consulate can issue you a single-entry visa , double-entry visa , or a multiple-entry visa.

The validity of your single-entry visa depends on the number of days you stated you are going to be in the Schengen zone on your visa application form and the actual decision of the consulate that issues you the Schengen visa. If you are a frequent traveler you may apply to obtain an EU visa valid for up to 5 years , but you have to keep in mind that you cannot stay within the Schengen Area for more than 90 days in a day period of time even if you hold a multiple-entry visa for Europe valid for up to 5 years.

To apply for a Schengen Visa to travel to Europe, you first need to figure out whether you need one or not depending on the purpose of your travel and nationality. Still, depending on the age of the applicant, nationality and some other factors, there are categories that will have to pay a lower fee or no fee at all.

Flight itinerary is a confirmed document, which can be verified online about the schedule of a given flight. Learn more about How to get a flight itinerary for visa application! Learn more about How to get a Schengen Visa Insurance! You are required to submit a confirmed document that shows where you will be accommodated for your whole trip in the Schengen Area.

For more information about visa requirements and application process for US, UK, Canadian and Australian residents, please read the following articles:. Schengen Visa Information What is Schengen? What is a Schengen Visa?

All Rights Reserved.


Schengen Visa Information

Established in as an intergovernmental initiative between the European Union founding Members, the Schengen Area removed physical and economic borders restrictions between countries in Europe. The freedom of movement together with the suppression of international trade fees led to the creation of the biggest internal market in the world. A single, European market that connects the economies not only of the EU members and also creates a community of around million people. There are 26 Member States in the Schengen area. Czech Republic.


Schengen: Controversial EU free movement deal explained

Freedom of movement has been a part of the European project since the s. Yet Europe's borderless zone only really began to become a reality in , when several members of the EU, including France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, met in a village in Luxembourg called Schengen to sign an agreement to eliminate all internal border controls. This "Schengen agreement", which came into effect in , eliminated border checks among its members and allowed foreign visitors to travel throughout the area using one visa. Today a total of 26 states, both within or outside the EU, are members see map. Two forces are pulling Europe apart. In the summer of an unprecedented number of migrants have arrived on Europe's shores.


Schengen Area – The World’s Largest Visa Free Zone

It was signed on 14 June , near the town of Schengen, Luxembourg , by five of the ten member states of the then European Economic Community. It proposed measures intended to gradually abolish border checks at the signatories' common borders, including reduced-speed vehicle checks which allowed vehicles to cross borders without stopping, allowing residents in border areas freedom to cross borders away from fixed checkpoints, and the harmonisation of visa policies. In , the Agreement was supplemented by the Schengen Convention which proposed the complete abolition of systematic internal border controls and a common visa policy. The Schengen Area operates very much like a single state for international travel purposes with external border controls for travellers entering and exiting the area, and common visas, but with no internal border controls. It currently consists of 26 European countries covering a population of over million people and an area of 4,, square kilometres 1,, sq mi. Originally, the Schengen treaties and the rules adopted under them operated independently from the European Union.

Related Articles