However, delays in postal and courier services mean that deliveries are currently taking longer than usual. This page lists all recordings of Air by Toru Takemitsu This release includes a digital booklet. Showing 1 - 10 of 14 results. Results per page:.

Author:Gushakar Jujinn
Country:Central African Republic
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):26 September 2014
PDF File Size:2.77 Mb
ePub File Size:19.50 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Air by Toru Takemitsu for flute. Joining the choir of great musicians to leave us in , Nicolet passed away just after his 90th birthday at the beginning of the year. The work opens with an impressionistic, introductory passage emphasizing the pitch A like a recitation tone. A clearly articulated four-note motif is then played twice in the high register, the second echoing the first. This principle motif recurs throughout the piece in various guises.

The opening is repeated, now with descending whole-tone scales, and the motif is presented again, but opened up through arpeggiation. The mood soon becomes more introverted, with little sighing figures and an occasional flighty gesture. The motif is stated again, but the order of the notes has changed. A series of ascending melodic arcs follow, and the motif is extended and then fragmented. The motif is then presented with the pitches all in ascending order.

The music becomes more active, including flutter-tonguing and insistent marcato accents as the music descends through two octaves. Unlike his other works for flute, which frequently employ all manner of extended techniques, Takemitsu limits the use of extended techniques in this piece to flutter-tongue and a few "bent" notes. The motif is stated again, this time quite emphatically. The notes become longer and more sustained. An extended lyricism pervades the work until we hear the final statement of the motif repeated boldly twice at the end, each at an equal dynamic level.

It is as if the distant echo of the opening motif were a second voice that has found its way to the fore.


Toru Takemitsu

Largely self-taught, Takemitsu possessed consummate skill in the subtle manipulation of instrumental and orchestral timbre. He composed several hundred independent works of music, scored more than ninety films and published twenty books. His Requiem for string orchestra attracted international attention, led to several commissions from across the world and established his reputation as one of the leading 20th-century Japanese composers. Takemitsu was born in Tokyo on October 8, ; a month later his family moved to Dalian in the Chinese province of Liaoning.





Related Articles